under Plaza EspanaAn exhibition, opening for guided visits from September has been completed underneath the Plaza de España in Santa Cruz.

During excavations for the new main square a section of wall was revealed which turned out to belong to a medieval fortification, the Castle of San Cristobal. It was this castle that gave the name to the popular Calle Castillo main street.
Work on the new square was halted until new plans could be drawn up which would preserve the fragment of the castle.

A series of panels in the underground passages show the history of the castle and the town from 1575 to its semi-demolition and burial in 1928. At the end of the passage visitors can see a 40 metre stretch of the wall.